ONE OF THE FEW- Out of 21 wineries in the Temecula area, Bella Vista Winery is the only one to serve vegetarian wine.
By Dave Stancliff/For the Times-Standard
Posted: 11/15/2009 01:27:15 AM PST
There appears to be a conspiracy of silence on the part of winemakers when it comes to the subject of vegetarian wine. That's right. Did you know there was such a thing as vegetarian or vegan wine?
I've visited wineries throughout California and never heard of vegetarian or vegan wine until very recently. While on a visit to relatives in Southern California, my sister told me and my wife that she had discovered them.
My sister has been a vegetarian most of her life and the idea that animal parts are used in the wine-making process literally sickened her. She had been drinking wine for about 10 years, blissfully unaware of this fact. Go to the Times-Standard to read the rest.